GERMANY

 

The Bundessortenamt (Federal Plant Variety Office) is an independent federal authority under the jurisdiction of the Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture. The main functions of the office are: Granting National Plant Breeders' Rights, National Listing of plant varieties, Control of maintenance of protected and listed varieties, Post control of certified seed, Support of the Ministry in drafting of variety and seed legislation, Coordination of seed certification issues for the Federal Government and the regional seed certification/seed control agencies of the federal Lands, Publication of Descriptive Variety Lists, Representation and Participation in International Boards and Fora (EU, UPOV, OECD, UNECE, FAO and others). The Bundessortenamt maintains a network of 10 testing stations for variety testing (DUS, VCU) and seed control throughout Germany. For the fulfilment of its tasks the office cooperates intensively with institutions of the Federal States and Federal Research institutions. Besides that partners in foreign countries carry out DUS tests on behalf of the Bundessortenamt on the basis of bilateral agreements. In the area of VCU testing the seed industry is also heavily involved.



Organisation

The Bundessortenamt

Address

Osterfelddamm 80
30627 Hannover

Phone

0049 (0)511 9566-5645

Fax

0049 (0)511 9566-9600

Website

www.bundessortenamt.de

Head (name)

Mr. Freudenstein

Email

hermann.freudenstein@bundessortenamt.de

 

Other contacts

Working committee of German seed certification agencies

Mr. Thiel
anerkennung@lwk-niedersachsen.de
Phone : 0049 (0)511 3665-1370

In charge of certification
LAND : Schleswig-Holstein

Mr. Brogmus
hbrogmus@lksh.de
Phone : 0049 (0) 4331 9453-350

In charge of certification
LAND : Hamburg

Mr. Becker
heinz.becker@bwa.hamburg.de
Phone : 0049 (0)40 42841-1794

In charge of certification
LAND : Niedersachsen

Mr. Thiel
Anerkennung@lwk-niedersachsen.de
Phone : 0049 (0)511 3665-1370

In charge of certification
LAND : Bremen
LMTVET-Pflanzenschutzdienst

Ms. Mersch
Birte.Mersch@Veterenaer.Bremen.de
Phone : 0049 (0)421 36189204

In charge of certification
LAND : Nordrhein-Westfalen

Mr. Söns
Thorsten.Soens@LWK.NRW.de
Phone : 0049 (0)251 2376679

In charge of certification
LAND : Hessen

Mr. Sander
uwe.sander@llh.hessen.de
Phone : 0049 (0)561 7299-298

In charge of certification
LAND : Rheinland-Pfalz

Mr. Laufer
Ottmar.Laufer@lwk-rlp.de
Phone : 0049 (0)671 793-1143

In charge of certification
LAND : Baden-Württemberg

Mr. Mayer-Ullmann
Hansjoerg.Mayer-Ullmann@ltz.bwl.de
Phone : 0049 (0)721 9468-390

In charge of certification
LAND : Bayern

Mr. Kupfer
Herbert.Kupfer@Lfl.bayern.de
Phone : 0049 (0)8161 713641

In charge of certification
LAND : Saarland

Mr. Nicke
franziska.nicke@lwk-saarland.de
Phone : 0049 (0)6881 928111

In charge of certification
LAND : Brandenburg

Mr. Näther
Norbert.Naether@lelf.brandenburg.de
Phone : 0049 (0)33702 73650

In charge of certification
LAND : Mecklenburg-Vorpommern

Mrs Wegner
sybille.wegner@lallf.mvnet.de
Phone : 0049 (0)381 4035446

In charge of certification
LAND : Sachsen

Mr. Mildner
Uwe.Mildner@smul.sachsen.de
Phone : 0049 (0)35242 631-7300

In charge of certification
LAND : Sachsen-Anhalt

Mr. Aßmann
Gunter.Assmann@llg.mule.sachsen-anhalt.de
Phone : 0049 0345/5584-120

In charge of certification
LAND : Thüringen

Mr. Müller
guenter.mueller@tll.thueringen.de
Phone : 0049 (0)36 41 4542-13

 


Mentions légales