GERMANY

 

The Bundessortenamt (Federal Plant Variety Office) is an independent federal authority under the jurisdiction of the Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture. The main functions of the office are: Granting National Plant Breeders' Rights, National Listing of plant varieties, Control of maintenance of protected and listed varieties, Post control of certified seed, Support of the Ministry in drafting of variety and seed legislation, Coordination of seed certification issues for the Federal Government and the regional seed certification/seed control agencies of the federal Lands, Publication of Descriptive Variety Lists, Representation and Participation in International Boards and Fora (EU, UPOV, OECD, UNECE, FAO and others). The Bundessortenamt maintains a network of 7 testing stations for variety testing (DUS, VCU) and seed control throughout Germany. For the fulfilment of its tasks the office cooperates intensively with institutions of the Federal States and Federal Research institutions. Besides that partners in foreign countries carry out DUS tests on behalf of the Bundessortenamt on the basis of bilateral agreements. In the area of VCU testing the seed industry is also heavily involved.



Organisation

The Bundessortenamt

Address

Osterfelddamm 80
30627 Hannover

Phone

0049 (0)511 9566-5645

Fax

0049 (0)511 9566-9600

Website

www.bundessortenamt.de

Head (name)

Hermann Freudenstein

Email

hermann.freudenstein@bundessortenamt.de

 

Other contacts

Working committee of German seed certification agencies

Henning Brogmus
hbrogmus@lksh.de
Phone : 0049 (0) 4331 9453-350

In charge of certification
LAND : Schleswig-Holstein

Henning Brogmus
hbrogmus@lksh.de
Phone : 0049 (0) 4331 9453-350

In charge of certification
LAND : Hamburg

Heinz. Becker
heinz.becker@bwa.hamburg.de
Phone : 0049 (0)40 42841-1794

In charge of certification
LAND : Niedersachsen

Willi Thiel
Anerkennung@lwk-niedersachsen.de
Phone : 0049 (0)511 3665-1370

In charge of certification
LAND : Bremen
LMTVET-Pflanzenschutzdienst

Birte Evers
Birte.evers@Veterenaer.Bremen.de
Phone : 0049 (0)421 36189204

In charge of certification
LAND : Nordrhein-Westfalen

Thorsten Söns
Thorsten.Soens@lwk.nrw.de
Phone : 0049 (0)221 5340 534

In charge of certification
LAND : Hessen

Gabriele Käufler
gabriele.käufler@llh.hessen.de
Phone : 0049 (0)6621 9228-15

In charge of certification
LAND : Rheinland-Pfalz

Volker Berg
volker.berg@lwk-rlp.de
Phone : 0049 (0)671 793-1243

In charge of certification
LAND : Baden-Württemberg

Hansjoerg Mayer-Ullmann
Hansjoerg.Mayer-Ullmann@ltz.bwl.de
Phone : 0049 (0)721 9468-390

In charge of certification
LAND : Bayern

Gerda Bauch
Gerda.Bauch@Lfl.bayern.de
Phone : 0049 (0)8161 713641

In charge of certification
LAND : Saarland

Franziska Nicke
franziska.nicke@lwk-saarland.de
Phone : 0049 (0)6881 928111

In charge of certification
LAND : Brandenburg

Norbert Näther
Norbert.Naether@lelf.brandenburg.de
Phone : 0049 (0)33702 73650

In charge of certification
LAND : Mecklenburg-Vorpommern

Sybille Wegner
sybille.wegner@lallf.mvnet.de
Phone : 0049 (0)381 4035446

In charge of certification
LAND : Sachsen

N.N
akst@smul.sachsen.de
Phone : 0049 (0)35242 631-9351

In charge of certification
LAND : Sachsen-Anhalt

Gunter Aßmann
Gunter.Assmann@llg.mule.sachsen-anhalt.de
Phone : 0049 0345/5584-120

In charge of certification
LAND : Thüringen

Günter Müller
guenter.mueller@tll.thueringen.de
Phone : 0049 (0)36 41 4542-13

 


Mentions légales